Tao Geoghegan Hart became the second Briton to win the Giro d’Italia on Sunday after he beat Jai Hindley by 39 seconds in Stage 21, where Filippo Ganna claimed this third victory from as many individual time trials.

Hindley (Team Sunweb) was the overnight leader in the general classification but was level on time with Geoghegan Hart (Ineos Grenadiers), who made the most of his superior time trial record in the final stage.

The title went down to the wire for the time trial run into the center of Milan. Despite his time of 18 minutes and 14 seconds not being sufficient to crack the stage’s top 10, Geoghegan Hart did enough to win his Grand Tour, finishing 39 seconds clear of Hindley in the GC:

Geoghegan Hart told reporters he never imagined winning a Grand Tour of this magnitude when the competition began, via BBC Sport:

“Bizarre to be honest. Not in my wildest dreams did I imagine this would be possible when we started a month ago in Sicily.

“All of my career I have dreamt of being top five or top 10 maybe in races of this stature. This is something completely different to that and will take a long time to sink in.”

The 25-year-old also emerged atop the young rider classification and follows Chris Froome into the Giro record books, the second British champion in three years after the country failed to produce a winner in the first 100 runnings of the race:

Ineos team-mate Ganna demonstrated his credentials as sprint world champion and blew the rest of the field out of the water with a leading time of 17 minutes and 16 seconds. Rohan Dennis—another impressive performer for Ineos this Tour—and NTT Pro Cycling’s Victor Campenaerts finished second and third, some 32 seconds behind Ganna’s lightning run.

The Italian became the first rider in a quarter of a century to win three time trials on the same Giro d’Italia, and he likely could have won at least a few more were they on the route:

Wilco Kelderman rounded off the podium next to his Sunweb colleague, Hindley, while Joao Almeida—who held the maglia rosa for 15 successive stages (3-17)—made up enough time to move up to fourth in the final general classification. Arnaud Demare won the points classification having held the maglia ciclamino since Stage 6, while Ruben Guerreiro ended as winner in the mountains classification.

Ineos’ achievements during this Giro are all the more impressive considering they lost Geraint Thomas to injury in Stage 3, excelling on both the team and individual level to take seven stages in total.

Final General Classification

  1. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR) - Ineos Grenadiers 85:40:21
  2. Jai Hindley (Aus) - Team Sunweb 0:00:39
  3. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) - Team Sunweb 0:01:29

4. Joao Almeida (Por) - Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:02:57

5. Pello Bilbao (Spa) - Bahrain McLaren 0:03:09

6. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) - Astana Pro Team 0:07:02

7. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) - Trek-Segafredo 0:08:15

8. Patrick Konrad (Aut) - Bora-Hansgrohe 0:08:42

9. Fausto Masnada (Ita) - Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:09:57

10. Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) - Bahrain McLaren 0:11:05