The Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs look to become the first team since 1953 to win three National Championships in a row. GETTY IMAGES

The state of Minnesota is really good at hockey. That might be a sentence that warrants the response of "Well, duh." It should be noted though that this state has a rich tradition of hockey far beyond the collegiate level. Starting with the Minnesota North Stars who made 17 playoff appearances before moving to Dallas in 1993. The Minnesota Wild who replaced them in 2000 but both franchises have notably struggled to win it all in the postseason. But that hasn't been the case when it comes to college hockey.

The state has won eight national championships since 1948. With three teams from Minnesota representing in the Frozen Four, odds are that that number keeps growing. This is only the second time that three of the four final teams came from one state. The last time was in 1992 when three Michigan teams made the semifinals with Lake Superior State ultimately winning the championship.

All of the Frozen Four will be available on fuboTV, which airs on ESPN2. You can live stream all NCAA Hockey Games on ESPN2 with fuboTV.

How to Watch the Frozen Four of the NCAA Hockey Tournament Live

When: Thursday, April 8
Where: PPG Paints Arena - Pittsburgh, PA
Time: Starting at 5 p.m. ET
Live Stream: fuboTV (watch NCAA Hockey Tournament games free with fuboTV)

Semifinals - ESPN2

Frozen Four - Thursday, April 8

St. Cloud State Huskies vs. Minnesota State Mavericks - 5 p.m. ET - ESPN2 - Frozen Four

UMass Minutemen vs. Minnesota Duluth Bulldogs - 9 p.m. ET - ESPN2 - Frozen Four

National Championship - Saturday, April 10 - ESPN - 7 p.m. ET

The Minnesota Duluth Bulldogs have notably won three of those championships in the last decade (2011, 2018,2019). They have an opportunity to three-peat, after last year's tournament was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Their road to get back to the championship game just got easier as their opponent UMass have four players who can't play in the semifinals because of COVID-19 protocols. Among the list of Minutemen who can't play are their leading scorer and goalie.

Massachusetts is a more than legitimate team to win it all also, only losing five games this season and absolutely dominating their opponent Bemidji State 4-0 in the Regionals. (Fun but not surprising fact, Bemidji State is in Minnesota.) This isn't the first time Duluth's opponent was affected by COVID-19 in this tournament.

The Bulldogs were supposed to open the tournament against Michigan but the Wolverines were eliminated because of positive COVID results. The same thing happened to Notre Dame in their opener against Boston College. Minnesota-Duluth did win a five-overtime thriller against No. 1 ranked North Dakota in the regionals, but time will tell if their weakened tournament schedule will be a benefit or ultimately affect their preparedness to take home another championship.

As a matter of fact, this is only the third time since 1992, when the regional tournaments were first introduced, that no No. 1 teams participated in the Frozen Four. This is a semifinals of Cinderellas of sorts and that is best represented in the opening game of the night when St. Cloud State faces off against Minnesota State-Mankato. Both coming off resounding victories against Boston College and Minnesota respectively. The Mavericks have won a national championship before but that was in Division II in 1980. This will be their first time making it to the DI Frozen Four.

St. Cloud is making their first Frozen Four since 2013 but they may prove to be the favorites to make the finals. While they'll miss one of their best players, forward Easton Brodzinski, the Huskies are out of their minds scoring with 10 goals in their first two games. These weren't pushover opponents either as they played Boston University and Boston College in the regionals. With the Frozen Four all set, it is looking inevitable we will have an all-Minnesota National Title game on Saturday.